The Beer Gatherer

Blogging about Israeli beer in general and Israeli craft beer in particular, following 1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die and other beer musings.

An attempt to break the silence?

A month without blogging/ updating/ whatnot. I wish I could say that I’ve been having so much fun that I couldn’t find the time to write, but this is not the case. It’s work that keeps me away from the keyboard and the notebook and the pictures.
When weekend comes I run errands and do the obligatory family things that are sometimes pleasing and more often than not frustrating and then crash. Being in bed in 9p.m is my latest weekend pleasure, as well as avoiding people. Luckily, Lovely Niva is oblivious to my state of beer neglect. Several months ago, when she took her daughter to a family trip to Argentina, I asked her to bring back a bottle of Antares Imperial Stout, Argentina’s representative in the 1001 book. Niva happily obliged and since then the bottle’s been resting at her fridge. Today we finally drank it. Oblivious to my state she invited us to lunch at the moshav where she, her husband Chula and their three kids live, grow herbs, cook glorious food, collect mugs and brew their own MaiBEERovicz beer in an open garage.

As carnivorous as Argentinians get, we were treated with amazing vegan food and lots of beer. We had quite a varied tasting session, with beer from Ghana, Tanzania, Belgium, Spain, USA, Ireland and Israel that was concluded with that bottle of Antares Imperial Stout. Despite the months that have passed, the beer remained pretty awesome, with deep chocolate aroma and taste, roastiness and some ash. The body was on the light side, considering it’s a 8.5% Imperial Stout we’re talking about. Drinkable, fun and definitely worth the time and calories involved. Better than Quilmes, for sure!

post-tasting shot

post-tasting shot

Antares Imperial Stout is beer #309 I Must Try Before I die. I am actually some 50 beers behind. Less than 2 months til my birthday. Should I opt for a catching-up challenge?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “An attempt to break the silence?

  1. Hi Karen MK,
    I like your short reviews. I wish you many more years of happy tastings. You can always add a second 1001 when you finish these!
    I just started a web log on Israeli beers which you are welcome to visit:
    http://www.IsraelBrewsandViews.blogspot.co.il
    I’ll be happy to exchange links with your site. I’m a novice. Step-by-step.
    L’chayim,
    Doug Greener

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

