The Beer Gatherer

Blogging about Israeli beer in general and Israeli craft beer in particular, following 1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die and other beer musings.

Old Beers Don’t Die. They Don’t Kill You Either.

grolsch

Marketed in Israel as Grolsch Premium Lager, Grolsch Premium Pilsner is listed in The Book,  perhaps because the editors share my weakness to this classy flip-top clear green bottle.

I must have seen and drank this beer for the first time when I lived in England in the 90’s, either in the city where I lived – a place with a fair share of CAMRA-certified pubs where I got drunk on Hooch and what my ex used to order at the pub – lager, any lager – or in our miserable, rainy trip to the continent in the summer of 1997.  I do remember buying bottles, 3 or 4 bottles for 10nis, in 1998. That’s 2.3 Euro in today’s currency, please don’t ask me for its price in Guilder at that time. I found it at a store in Tel Aviv’s central bus station, skid row then and now, on my way to visit my self-destruction peer who was recovering from a bad car accident he was involved in back in Minneapolis. Neither him nor me knew anything about beer, but we liked getting drunk and these embossed Grolsch bottles looked fancy and fun and they were really cheap for fancy import beer. Only at B’s parents’ place did I looked at the best before date and learned that the product is expired. We didn’t know much about beer but had the common sense to drink it anyway – a year old beer wouldn’t kill us, we thought, and indeed it didn’t.

Years later and drinking expired beer is a part of the routine. They die on their way to Israel from wherever, they die in storage while waiting to be consumed, they die because of less-than-optimal storage conditions, but nevertheless they are consumed, because rating and ticking is my thing and it has nothing to do with imbibing.

For this entry/ ticking I drank an unexpired bottle. I won’t bother sharing my tasting notes with you, my dear readers. Chances are you’ve quenched your thirst with this one before. Bottle’s nice and after cleaning it thoroughly it can be used to store all kinds of things, like simple syrup for your cocktails.

So Grolsch Premium Pilsner is beer #330 I must Try Before I Die.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

