The Beer Gatherer

Blogging about Israeli beer in general and Israeli craft beer in particular, following 1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die and other beer musings.

la_chouffe

The other day we went for a drink in our neighbourhood bar – Chuffeland Street Bar. A small place with like 2 seats inside and plenty of tables on the sidewalk, where they serve Tuborg and Brasserie d’Achouffe’s beers on tap – 3 or 4 of them at any given time. Typical bar food, sports screen, lots of noise and a fun vibe from the owners and waitstaff that always makes me think that a beach bar that sells Corona suits them better than Belgium beer in the Old North quarter.

Anyway, I ordered La Chouffe, and I don’t think that this Belgian Strong Ale needs any introduction. This is one of the first beers I ever rated on Ratebeer, shortly before I started this blog, with 4.5 out of 5 – of, the days of innocence! These days I hardly ever rate anything over 3.5, even really awesome beers. La Chouffe is still a great beer though, but I definitely prefer Chouffe Houblon these days, although I rate it lower.

La Chouffe is Beer #376 I must Try Before I Die, and if you are in Tel Aviv, you are welcome to try it fresh from tap at Chouffeland.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

