The Beer Gatherer

Blogging about Israeli beer in general and Israeli craft beer in particular, following 1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die and other beer musings.

On a sour note

When I heard that a group of fellow beergeeks were working on a tasting session of sour beer, I contacted DSG and asked to see their tasting plan, should they sample anything that’s listed on the 1001 book. DSG forwarded me the beer list for the evening and I was delighted to find Grand Cru Bruocsella Cantillon on their list and jumped on the opportunity to cross it off mine. I might be losing friends or credibility over the next sentence but it must be said: I really don’t like sour beer. Veganism taken into account, I’m not a picky eater or drinker. I’d try everything once and last October I sampled 4 different offerings from Cantillon on the brewery tour. I tolerated none.
I asked to join for the Cantillon part of the evening. The gang kindly agreed to share their 2007 vintage with The Secret Agent and I and thus last night we joined them around the long wooden desk in a meeting room in an office in the city center. They were already in the middle of consuming acidity, that was accompanied by pretzels and (brilliant) homemade Sauerkraut.
A generous portion of yellowish hazy Grand Cru Bruocsella was poured to wine goblets. Following the pouring were a few good minutes of overwhelming Sourness with capital S. Whereas the aroma was tolerable – I sensed apples (thank goodness I didn’t smell what my partner in crime did – piss), drinking was difficult: extreme sourness with clear saltiness attacked my taste buds. My attempts to keep up appearances in front of my hosts failed as I couldn’t control my facial expression. I drank it all though, swallowed every bit of the flat, light and slightly oily liquid. Then we thanked our generous hosts that all seemed to devour their share, and headed up the street to Little Prague, the Czech restaurant that celebrated its 10th anniversary with 10nis. refills and souvenir pint mugs. Kozel Premium and Edelweiss Weissbier Snowfresh for the lady, Edelweiss Weissbier Dunkel and Franziskaner Hefe-Weissbier for her man sure helped us to overcome the trauma.

Then, while summing up this entry, I realised that our beloved Franziskaner is listed in the book too, so this entry covers Beer #7 and #8 out of those 1001 Beers I must try before I die.

Thank you, chubby, happy monk, for that liquid goodness.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “On a sour note

  1. Pingback: Turning Lemons into Lemonade « The Beer Gatherer

  2. Pingback: Sour Crasher « The Beer Gatherer

  3. Pingback: A Night Out With The Belgians « The Beer Gatherer

  4. Pingback: Sourpuss | The Beer Gatherer

Leave a comment